Social Icons

Thursday, September 8, 2016

All-Time Winners of Mr. Olympia (1965 - 2015)

Mr. Olympia is the award given each year to the best bodybuilder in the world. The competition was created by the legendary Joe Weider and it first took place in 1965. Since then, the best bodybuilders of the world gather at The IFBB Joe Weider's Olympia Fitness & Performance Weekend (also called the Olympia Weekend) and compete for the supreme title.

The size of the competitors increased significantly over the years, and so is the size of the check the winner receives. For example Larry Scott and Arnold Schwarzenegger got just 1,000$ for winning in the 60's and 70's, while Ronnie Coleman got around 100,000$ each year in the 90s and early 2000s, and Phil Heath earned 400,000$ in 2015.

Ronnie Coleman and Lee Haney have the most Sandows (the trophy given to the winner), each of them winning 8 titles. Arnold was Mr. Olympia 7 times, Lee Haney 6 times and Phil Heath 5 times. Will Phil manage to get his sixth trophy this year? We'll find out soon in the Olympia Weekend (16-17 September).

Now let's take a look at the all-time winners of Mr. Olympia:

2015 Phil Heath
2014 Phil Heath
2013 Phil Heath
2012 Phil Heath
2011 Phil Heath
2010 Jay Cutler
2009 Jay Cutler
2008 Dexter Jackson
2007 Jay Cutler
2006 Jay Cutler
2005 Ronnie Coleman
2004 Ronnie Coleman
2003 Ronnie Coleman
2002 Ronnie Coleman
2001 Ronnie Coleman
2000 Ronnie Coleman
1999 Ronnie Coleman
1998 Ronnie Coleman

For the complete history of Mr. Olympia, with photos of the Top 3 competitors of each year, you can check out this great article or watch the video below:

1997 Dorian Yates
1996 Dorian Yates
1995 Dorian Yates
1994 Dorian Yates
1993 Dorian Yates
1992 Dorian Yates
1991 Lee Haney
1990 Lee Haney
1989 Lee Haney
1988 Lee Haney
1987 Lee Haney
1986 Lee Haney
1985 Lee Haney
1984 Lee Haney 

1983 Samir Bannout
1982 Chris Dickerson
1981 Franco Columbu
1980 Arnold Schwarzenegger
1979 Frank Zane
1978 Frank Zane
1977 Frank Zane
1976 Franco Columbu
1975 Arnold Schwarzenegger
1974 Arnold Schwarzenegger
1973 Arnold Schwarzenegger
1972 Arnold Schwarzenegger
1971 Arnold Schwarzenegger
1970 Arnold Schwarzenegger
1969 Sergio Oliva
1968 Sergio Oliva
1967 Sergio Oliva
1966 Larry Scott
1965 Larry Scott 

Guest Article brought to you by Predator Nutrition.